When a person willfully and knowingly provides false information or makes a false report concerning the commission of a crime that they are aware did not really take place, they have committed a crime. This is known as “making a false report.” It is a misfortune, but it is not uncommon for someone to be falsely accused of a crime in Orlando or anywhere else in Florida.
You should immediately contact an expert criminal defense attorney, regardless of whether the charge is linked to a rape allegation, a drug felony allegation, or other criminal behavior. If you have been wrongfully accused, you have several alternatives. However, if you were the one who made a false accusation, you may face severe repercussions. Is incarceration one of them? Continue reading to discover the answer.
What are the repercussions for making a false accusation?
A misdemeanor of the first degree may be committed if a false accusation is filed. As a direct consequence, the infraction may result in a maximum sentence of one (1) year in jail, twelve (12) months of probation, and a fine of $1,000.
Making false statements to police
However, two distinct crimes are providing false information to a police officer and making a false complaint. While submitting a false report entails knowingly reporting a crime that did not occur, offering incorrect information occurs when a crime did happen. Still, the person presents misleading information about the occurrence.
Anyone who knowingly and purposefully provides a member of law enforcement with false information in furtherance of a missing person inquiry or felony criminal investigation is engaging in unethical behavior and is sentenced to imprisonment for giving false information to any law office in accordance with Florida Statute 837.055.
Penalty for False Statements
First-degree misdemeanor, which has a potential term of one (1) year in jail and a fine of one thousand ($1000) if you provide false information to law enforcement officers while they are conducting an investigation.
The offense is considered to be a felony of the third degree if the false information pertains to a kid under the age of 16 who has gone missing and has either suffered substantial physical injury or died as a result of their ordeal. To deliberately submit false information to a law enforcement official in connection with an alleged serious crime is also regarded to be a felony of the third degree.
False charges can potentially destroy a person’s life and have serious repercussions in both the criminal justice and civil justice systems. In instances involving divorce and child custody, it is all too common for claims to be made that are not true. In addition to sexual harassment in the workplace, false charges may also encompass domestic abuse, assault, and other forms of physical violence. These are the people who falsely accuse someone of a crime that must be penalized by a fee or should be punished by imprisonment for a year.
Many of us operate under the assumption that justice will always be served once we get to the courtroom. On the other hand, this is not always the case. The accused individual may not know how to defend themselves effectively, which might have significant repercussions for their life. You must know what to do if you suspect you have been falsely accused of a crime. If you employ the right strategy and work with a seasoned lawyer, you can get your record expunged.